menu close icon

We provide asbestos clearance certification in the form of four-stage clearance as outlined by the Control of Asbestos Regulations 2012 and HSG248.

person in bazmat suit

4 Stage Asbestos Clearance

A clearance is required following the completion of licensed asbestos removal. Certain types of asbestos material are inherently more friable and subject to tighter controls but at Franks Portlock, we can work alongside you and support you through the decision-making process. 

Asbestos is only dangerous where it becomes airborne as respirable fibres and as such control measures used to remediate or remove asbestos-containing materials (ACMs) should reflect the relative ease by which these fibres could be released. Removal by its nature is extremely disruptive and more friable materials such as insulating board, thermal insulation and sprayed coating require fully controlled conditions.

We appreciate that asbestos removal and remediation works can be confusing and intrusive, so we aim to work alongside you throughout the decision-making process to ensure you remain safe and compliant. We can even help draft specifications and source Licensed Asbestos Removal Contractors.

A certificate of reoccupation is required before anybody can safely enter an area subject to licensed asbestos work without PPE and full decontamination procedures and this certificate can only be issued once four distinct stages of assessment are complete.

Franks Portlock would always recommend the services of an analytical company independent of the removal contractors.

The four stages clearance process are summarised below:

  • 1. Preliminary check of site condition blue x button

  • 2. A thorough visual inspection of the enclosure/ work area blue x button

  • 3. Air monitoring for residual asbestos fibres blue x button

  • 4. Final assessment after removal of the asbestos in the enclosure/ work area blue x button

For more information on our asbestos awareness training, please contact us.